What's the difference between canning salt and regular salt?

canning salt contains more refined sodium crystals than sea or kosher salt. More importantly, there are no additives in canning salt; this means there are no anti-caking agents or iodine added.

---

Table salt will turn the contents dark, and it will settle to the bottom of the jar - all caused by the iodine and anti-caking additives. Canning salt or preserving salt is pure granulated salt, that contains no anti-caking additives.

---

pickling salt, also known as canning salt, is salt that has no additives or anti-caking agents. These agents are added to regular salt to make them more pourable, but in canning they can make the solution cloudy.