How do you get rid of a bad smell in your house?

First figure out what's causing the smell and get rid of it! Try using a dishwasher cleaning tablet once a month. Boil a quart of water with lemon slices in your microwave. Use Febreze on your furniture and mattress. Sprinkle baking soda on the carpet, let sit for an hour or so, then vacuum up.