Can you start a sentence with yet?

Yes, it's acceptable to begin a sentence with the word "yet." It requires a preceding sentence or (preferably) set of sentences, to which the sentence in question points out an incongruity. Yet many people still think it's incorrect.

---

Yes, it can be done.