How do you craft a rope in minecraft?

Place 4 string and 1 slimeball (also called redstone dust) in the 3x3 crafting grid. When making a lead, it is important that the strings and slimeball are placed in the exact pattern as the image below. In the first row, there should be 1 string in the first box and 1 string in the second box.