What does b. o. l. a. t. i. l. e. mean?

V-O-L-A-T-I-L-E spells "volatile," which, in chemistry, describes a substance that easily evaporates at normal temperatures. The word is also used metaphorically to describe a situation that can rapidly and unpredictably change, generally for the worst.