When did astonia become a country?

Estonia, officially called the Republic of Estonia, declared independence from Russia in 1918. It fought and won a brief War of Independence connected to the Russian Civil War from 1918-1920. The new state was recognized by Russia in the Treaty of Tartu, which ended the war, on February 2, 1920.