What's the difference between coconut oil and fractionated coconut oil?

Regular coconut oil is extracted from the kernel or meat of mature coconuts. Fractionated coconut oil is further processed to provide fractions of the whole oil so that its different fatty acids can be separated for specific uses, such as industrial, medical, and cosmetic use.