Is shadow the hedgehog a villain?

Although he is Sonic's arch-rival, Shadow is not truly villainous, as he is mostly considered an anti-hero mostly due to how he has saved Sonic's life on multiple occasions despite their rivalry, has sacrificed himself to save others and sets out to do good for humanity and protect the world