Why did dogs get hotspots?

Dog hot spots are areas of infected, inflamed skin that are very uncomfortable for your dog. Hot spots on dogs are caused by a condition called acute moist dermatitis. They are itchy, painful skin lesions that result from constant licking, biting, and scratching of one area.