Why do people carve pumpkins on halloween?

We carve pumpkins into jack-o-lanterns to scare away evil spirits, at least that is why it started: It continues because it is fun and a great decoration.

---

Carved pumpkins were traditionally used to scare away the evil spirits that roam the earth when the veil between world's is said to be thin which falls on Samhain.