Why did they change the name from bombay to mumbai?

The city's official name change, to Mumbai from Bombay happened when regional political party Shiv Sena came into power in 1995. The Shiv Sena saw Bombay as a legacy of British colonialism and wanted the new name to reflect its Maratha heritage, hence renaming in tribute to the goddess Mumbadevi.