How much money does the average american have?

The typical American household has an average of $8,863 in an account at a bank or credit union, according to a recent report from Bankrate that analyzed inflation-adjusted data from the Federal Reserve. That's purely in liquid savings, so it doesn't include retirement funds or other investments.