Who is the first secretary of the navy?

The first U.S. Secretary of the Navy was Benjamin Stoddart and reported directly to the president from 1798 to 1801. However the first Secretary of the Navy under the current organizational structure reporting to the Secretary of Defense was Francis P. Matthews from 1949 to 1951.