What did frederick douglass fight for?

Frederick Douglass was an escaped slave who became a prominent activist, author & public speaker. He became a leader in the abolitionist movement, which sought to end the practice of slavery, before & during the Civil War. His work served as inspiration to the civil rights movement of the 1960s.