What's the difference between a carousel and a merry go round?

"Merry-go-round” and “carousel” are synonyms, which means that they mean the same thing. But some people say that the difference between a “merry-go-round” and a “carousel” is that they turn in different directions. Others say it's that one has all kinds of animals while the other has only horses.