How do you reset the check engine light on a chevy silverado?

The on-off method is the equivalent fix for a vehicle's check engine light. It forces the computer to refresh its saved state through a reboot. Simply place your key into the ignition and turn it on for 1-2 seconds, then turn it off for 1-2 seconds. Repeat this step three or four times.