Why does your nose run when you cry?

Your tear ducts are connected to your nose by a passage called the nasolacrimal duct. Excess tears flow down through the duct, into your nose, where they build up and mix with mucous. This is also the reason it's recommended to briefly block the duct with a finger after applying eye drops