Why does your nose run when you cry?

That's because their bodies react to these things like they're germs. You're crying: When you cry, tears come out of the tear glands under your eyelids and drain through the tear ducts that empty into your nose. Tears mix with mucus there and your nose runs.

---

Your tear ducts are connected to your nose by a passage called the nasolacrimal duct. Excess tears flow down through the duct, into your nose, where they build up and mix with mucous. This is also the reason it's recommended to briefly block the duct with a finger after applying eye drops