What do you do when you see a coyote?

Smile and know you're one of the few humans that gets the privilege. Then leave the coyote alone. Don't follow or chase it and don't run away if it's not chasing you. Coyotes are shy and prefer to avoid humans though since they sometimes hunt during the day you might see one.