How often should you clip your cat's nails?

If an outdoor cat than you should try to avoid it. Long nails will protect them from predators. If indoors than when they get long and cat starts scratching stuff. How fast nails grow differs for cats. Therefore how often you should clip your cats nails differs for each cat.