Is there such a thing as freshwater shrimp?

Yes, there are a variety of freshwater shrimp. Some species, like the ghost shrimp and crystal red shrimp, are popular additions to freshwater aquariums. And some larger species are sold as food, though many of these are actually freshwater prawns, which are related to but not actually shrimp.