What year did roger moore start playing double oh seven?

Roger Moore played Agent 007 seven times between 1972 and 1985. Filming for his first 007 film began in October 1972.

---

Sir Roger George Moore KBE (14 October 1927 – 23 May 2017) was an English actor. He was the third actor to portray fictional British secret agent James Bond in the Eon Productions film series, playing the character in seven feature films between 1973 and 1985