Who is the face of mad magazine?

Alfred E. Neuman is the fictitious mascot on the cover of the American humor magazine Mad. The characters distinct face, with his parted red hair, gap-tooth smile, freckles, protruding nose, and scrawny body, actually first emerged in US iconography decades prior to his association with the magazine