How long can a whale hold it's breath?

The longest ever recorded dive by a whale was made by a Cuvier's beaked whale. It lasted 222 minutes. Other whales can also hold their breath for a very long time. A sperm whale can spend around 90 minutes hunting underwater before it has to come back to the surface to breathe.