What year was the first automobile?

A steam-powered car was designed by Joseph Cugnot in 1769. A vehicle that used a combustion engine for power was first designed and built in 1806 by a Swiss inventor; Francois Rivaz. In 1885 Karl Benz invented an automobile with an engine that used gasoline, in Mannheim, Germany.