What is the null in minecraft?

Null (sometimes called The Original Null to distinguish him from Anti Null) is the newest in a line of hoaxes created by the Minecraft fanbase. He/She supposedly leaves signs with the word "null" on them. This is not in any way creepy or unnatural, it's due to a parsing failure by Java.