What does ditto mean in the movie ghost?

In the movie "Ghost," Patrick Swayze's character use the word ditto as a substitution to saying I love you. The word itself means that which was stated before, the above, the same, or likewise. so, when his girlfriend says I love you, he responds with ditto.