What's the difference between a princess and a duchess?

Where a Duchess Ranks: Duchesses rank below princesses, meaning both Middleton must curtsey to Princess Beatrice and Princess Eugenie when they see them in the halls of Buckingham Palace. Though, as Daily Mail noted, she doesn't have to curtsey to them if her husband is present.