What is an e. m. p. attack?

EMP is an Electro magnetic pulse. It is when a nuclear device is detonated several miles above the earth. The emp from the blast will basically fry any electronic device, so that it will no longer work. Example would be the electric grid supplying electricity, vehicles, computers and cell phones.