Is a banana a fruit?

A banana is undoubtedly a fruit, though since commercially grown banana plants are sterile, the seeds are reduced to little specks. The banana plant is called a 'banana tree' in popular use, but it's technically regarded as a herb, not a tree, because the stem does not contain true woody tissue.

---

Bananas are both a fruit and not a fruit. The yellow thing you peel and eat is, in fact, a fruit because it contains the seeds of the plant. Although since bananas have been commercially grown, the plants are sterile, and the seeds have gradually been reduced to little specs.