What are fake nails?

Artificial nails, also known as fake nails, false nails, fashion nails, nail enhancements, acrylic nails, nail wraps, or nail extensions, are extensions placed over fingernails as fashion accessories.

---

Fake nails are extensions placed over fingernails as fashion accessories. Historically, artificial nails were common symbols of status all across the world. Egyptian women wore nail extensions made from bone, ivory and gold. Upper-class Greek women often wore empty pistachio shells over their nails.