Do hippos eat plants?

Yes. A hippopotamus is an herbivore, feeding on the short grasses surrounding their aquatic habitats. When available in their natural environment, fruit is also part of their diet. A hippopotamus living in captivity is fed vegetables, like lettuce, fruits and pellets.