What's the difference between a regular martini and a dry martini?

The martini is a cocktail made with gin and vermouth, and garnished with an olive or a lemon twist. The term 'dry' indicates that very little vermouth has been added to the cocktail, so the gin is the primary focus. The typical ratio or a regular martini is 6 parts gin to 1 part vermouth.