What does self immolate mean?

Self immolation is the act of setting yourself on fire, purposefully.

---

The term self-immolation broadly refers to acts of altruistic suicide, otherwise the giving up of one's body in an act of sacrifice, the practice of setting yourself on fire, especially as a protest against something: