Why did they change mount mckinley to mount denali?

The name "Denali" is based on the Koyukon name of the mountain, Deenaalee ("the high one"). The Koyukon are a people of Alaskan Athabaskans settling in the area north of the mountain. In 1975, Alaska requested that the mountain be officially recognized as Denali.