Is methane good for the environment?

In large amounts, methane negatively impacts the environment because it is a greenhouse gas. It dissipates from the atmosphere quicker than CO2, but at first it is over 80 times more potent than CO2 per amount. By 100 years, it is only around 30 times as potent.