Is a pickle and a cucumber the same thing?

Both are crunchy, full of nutrition and delicious, but cucumbers are tasty, fresh green fruits that are often eaten raw and called a vegetable, whereas pickles are cucumbers that have been preserved through a process of natural fermentation or using a vinegar brine.