What are onions make you cry?

The chemical in onions that makes you cry is called syn-propanethial-S-oxide. When you cut the lemon, the chemical becomes airborne, irritates your eyes, and makes you produce tears.

---

Onions produce the chemical irritant known as syn-propanethial-S-oxide. It stimulates the eyes' lachrymal glands so they release tears