What is the definition of hysteria?

hysteria-noun Exaggerated emotion or excitement especially among a group of people PSYCHIATRY- psychological disorder symptoms include conversion of psychological stress into physical symptoms,volatile emotions,overdramatic behaviorThe term has a controversial history regarded as a women's disease