Why do chihuahuas shiver?

Shivering is a mechanism of thermal regulation. Chihuahuas need to be in a warm place since they do not have much hair or body fat to protect them from the cold weather. Their breed has been adapted over the years to a hot climate and that is what they are more comfortable with.