How do you cut a prickly pear?

Cut the ends off of the prickly pear with a knife. Make a vertical slice down the middle of the fruit. Wedge your thumb and forefinger into the slice and grasp the edge of skin to peel it off. Once you remove the skin, you can eat the fruit as it is or liquify it by placing it in a food processor.

---

Remove both ends of the prickly pear. Make one long vertical slice down the body of the pear. Slip your finger into the slice and grab hold of the skin. Peel back the thick fleshy skin that's wrapped around the prickly pear. Discard the skin. You'll be left with the prickly pear itself.