How do you cut a prickly pear?

Cut the ends off of the prickly pear with a knife. Make a vertical slice down the middle of the fruit. Wedge your thumb and forefinger into the slice and grasp the edge of skin to peel it off. Once you remove the skin, you can eat the fruit as it is or liquify it by placing it in a food processor.