Who invented sauerkraut?

It is widely believed that although the Germans are famous for it, sauerkraut was invented in China

---

It was, in fact, the Chinese who first fermented cabbage in rice wine over 2,000 years ago. Not until the 16th century did the Europeans adopt this habit of fermenting cabbage in its own juices, thus creating what we know today as sauerkraut.