Who invented baked alaska?

In 1866, French food writer Baron Leon Brise stated it was French chef Balzac who introduced the dessert to France. Charles Ranhofer, the chef at Delmonico's in New York, is said to have put his new dessert on the menu to celebrate the purchase of Alaska from Russia in 1867.