How did the hulk turn into the hulk?

Bruce Banner was performing experiments with Gamma radiation and was exposed turning him into the Hulk. In comics, he is exposed while saving the life of Rick Jones during the detention of an experimental bomb. In the MCU, they were trying to recreate the serum that made Captain America.