Why is an elephant alabama's mascot?

The story of how Alabama became associated with the "elephant" goes back to the 1930 season. The varsity team was composed of big men, & when they ran out onto the field, the bleachers shook. An excited fan yelled "The elephants are coming!" & the title stuck.