Are pencils made out of lead?

Writing pencils use "leads" which are made from graphite and clay to make various hardnesses. The higher the level of clay, the harder the "lead". Other leads can use carbon as the color (black) or it can be made from other pigments to make colored pencils. No pencils use actual Lead which is toxic.