What is the difference between home loan and personal loan?

A home loan is a secured loan while a personal one is not. A personal loan would be a credit card account which is simply backed by your promise to repay it. A secured loan is backed by something like a home that can be sold to recoup the bank’s money should you default on the loan payments.