What does it mean when you're afraid of the rain?

Ombrophobia—Fear of Rain Those who fear rain, especially children, tend to do so because they take heavy downpours as a sign that thunderstorms may be near. Surprisingly, the weather doesn't have to be severe to raise stress levels or heart rates.