How many days would it take to get to the sun?

Consider a space shuttle which could take off from earth and reach a speed of 17,000 miles per hour to enable insertion into a low earth orbit. If it could sustain that speed it would only take 228 days to reach the sun. Unfortunately it ran out of fuel at 300 miles into the 93,000,000 miles trip!