What happens in child's play?

A single mother gives her son a much sought-after doll for his birthday, only to discover that it is possessed by the soul of a serial killer. When Charles Lee Ray needs to get a quick escape from cop Mike Norris, he takes his soul and buries it into playful, seemingly good guy doll Chucky.