Who played the grandmother on the waltons?

Ellen Corby, born June 3, 1911, played Esther (Grandma) Walton on the TV show, The Waltons, for which she won three Emmy Awards. She was also nominated for an Academy Award and won a Golden Globe Award for her performance as Aunt Trina in I Remember Mama (1948).